Skip to the content

From left to right: David Jolliffe, Robert Gray, Graeme Brown, Nick Psaila, Steve McMahon and Mark Hesketh

Nick Psaila, Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer

Nick is a recognised expert in the manufacture and use of photonic technologies in optical communications. In 2010 he was awarded an Enterprise Fellowship from the Royal Society of Edinburgh, providing support, business training, and facilitating commercialisation of university based technology. Nick has a BSc (Hons) in Physics from Imperial College London; a MSc in Photonics and Optoelectronic Devices from the University of St Andrews and a PhD in Photonics from Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, Scotland. He is a member of IEEE, IoP, SPIE and OSA.

Graeme Brown, Co-Founder and Technical Director

Graeme is an established expert in ultrafast laser inscription of photonic components and advanced optical test and measurement. From 2000-2008 he worked in the planar lightwave circuit industry for telecom focussed companies including Kymata, Alcatel Optronics, Avanex and Gemfire Europe in the development of new Telecommunication Components and advanced optical test systems. Graeme was awarded a MPhys (Hons) in Physics and Laser Science and a PhD from Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, Scotland.

Mark Hesketh, Chief Operating Officer

Mark is a proven senior management executive with over 30 years’ experience in consumer, telecoms, defence, and semiconductor business sectors. He has held executive management positions in R&D, marketing, business development and programme management. During his career Mark has worked within large corporations, SMEs and start up organisations including Ferranti, BAE Systems, Alcatel, Avanex, Wolfson Microelectronics plc and Cirrus Logic. He successfully co-founded and established Oligon Ltd in 2005, the business was acquired by Wolfson Microelectronics plc in January 2007. Mark has a BSc (Hons) degree in Electrical and Electronic Engineering from Robert Gordon’s Institute of Technology (RGIT) in Aberdeen, Scotland and has several patent awards in MEMS related technology.

Steve McMahon, Chief Commercial Officer

Steve heads up the Company’s commercial activities including sales, marketing and product management. A chartered engineer with over 25 years of experience leading the commercial activities within a wide variety of high technology companies around the world. Has been involved in various technology based markets from test & measurement to renewable energy. Steve has a first class Honours degree in Electrical & Electronic Engineering from Abertay University, Dundee, Scotland, an MSc in Digital Techniques from Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, Scotland and an MBA from The University of Edinburgh, Scotland.

David Jolliffe, Chief Financial Officer

David heads the company Finance and Administration team. A graduate of Glasgow University David qualified as a Chartered Accountant with Arthur Andersen & Co in 1987. After qualifying David worked in Corporate Finance before moving into Industry where he has held senior Finance roles in several industrial organisations with responsibility for business planning, company acquisitions, integrations, fund raising and rights issues. David also has extensive international experience including working in Spain for two years and has held Board positions in both PLC and Private Equity backed businesses.

Robert Gray, Operations & Facilities Director

Robert is a proven operations manager with over 30 years’ experience in consumer electronics, telecoms and semiconductor business sectors. He has built, developed and managed numerous production lines in a wide range of businesses in the UK and abroad, including Motorola, Kymata, Alcatel Optronics, and Wolfson Microelectronics plc. Robert has a wealth of experience in managing high volume manufacturing, implementing and scaling up production processes. Robert qualified in manufacturing from the University of the West of Scotland.


Board of Directors

George Elliott, Non-Executive Chairman

George trained as an accountant with Grant Thornton and was one of the firm’s youngest partners. After a successful career at McQueen, Calluna plc and Wolfson Microelectronics plc George embarked on a non-executive career. Over the last 10 years George has been non-executive chairman/director of over 20 technology companies, including Kewill plc, Corsair Components Inc. (which is based in Fremont, California) and Two Big Ears Ltd, which was acquired by Facebook in 2016. George is also non-executive chairman of Craneware plc, Calnex Solutions Ltd, Indigovision plc and a non-executive director of Cooper Software Ltd.

Richard Laming, Non-Executive Director

Richard has 30 years’ experience in research, development and commercialisation of new technologies spanning optoelectronics, MEMS and electronics for the telecoms and consumer electronics markets. He was Deputy Director at the Optoelectronics Research Centre, Southampton University where his pioneering activity included EDFAs and fibre gratings. Subsequently he was the co-founder of Kymata, a Scottish-based optoelectronics Company which was acquired by Alcatel Optronics and Oligon, a MEMS-based audio component business, sold to Wolfson Microelectronics plc and CEO of Alcatel Optronics UK and CTO of Wolfson Microelectronics plc.

Simon Hardy, Non-Executive Director

Simon is an experienced non-executive chairman and CEO with a strong track record in building teams and breakthrough to revenue for new technologies. World-wide international sales experience particularly in the US and EMEA. He previously held senior sales and marketing positions with Digital Switch Corporation and STC Telecommunications.

Executive Directors

Nick Psaila (Chief Executive Officer) and Graeme Brown (Technical Director) are Executive Directors on the Board. Please see above for their individual biographies.